Doodlebutt


doodle 2

All right, I figured since this is “Saboknits and more,” I should include some of the knits. I just finished knitting a pair of Aubrey DoodlePants for my little girl. I think that it is the best diaper cover that I have knit to date. I made the pants shorter for summer-wear with a Belle Epoque ruffle from Nicky Epstein’s “Knitting on the Edge.” I still have to weave in the ends and the pants have not even been put on my girl yet because she was asleep when they were completed last night. I am so excited to see them on her little hiney.

Next up, I will knit a pair of Hedera in Knit Picks Gloss. This will be the first pair of socks that I have ever knit for myself. I made a bunch for Christmas last year, but never got to make mine . . . All right, I can’t lie to you, I did knit one pair of socks for myself years ago, but it was before I realized how important it is to use the correct weight of yarn. The pattern called for fingering and I used sport, then changed the pattern to accommodate the different guage. Needless to say, it was a disaster. I have never frogged the socks though. I guess I have this emotional bond to my first pair. I can’t bear to see them die.

Leave a Reply

